• teaser_blank
  • philip-lassiter-grammy-banner
  • teaser_blank
  • teaser_blank
  • I first heard of Philip as a trumpeter/ arranger. And then I actually 'heard' him on something he’d actually written, arranged, produced and performed. Now I’ve had the good fortune of having the full “Philthy” experience... And I’ll never be the same.

    -Tommy Sims
  • The genius of Phil is to marry his masterpiece arrangements that concludes the story of the song. His sound lifts the idea off of the paper until you feel it in your chest

    -Kirk Franklin
  • Phil Lassiter is one of the dopest musicians I know, and the best horn arranger of all time.

    -Bobby Sparks

Purchase Philthy Album Now by Philip Lassiter

Posted in News.



2014 has already been a great year for Philip Lassiter. Jan 1st, he appeared with Prince (who he tours with regularly) at Mohegan Sun in Connecticut. This was promptly followed by a live performance with Nashville darling Clare Bowen on The View, and then later with Liv Warfield, on Jimmy Fallon. With European dates forming for the Summer, the news of a record deal and a spring release for the new album, was perfect timing. The first major movement coming from the deal with GROUNDUP, is the re-release of Philip Lassiter’s debut album “PHILTHY”, which will go on sale February 18th.

GROUNDUP is the perfect home for Philip Lassiter’s music, since they are also the home of Snarky Puppy, who recently won a Grammy for a song feat. Lalah Hathaway. Snarky Puppy leader Michael League is also featured on the “PHILTHY” record, as are many of the band’s members. Michael is also the President of GROUNDUP and had this to say about the company’s initiative, “The label is being set up as an oasis for artists in the ever-changing world of independent music. Our goals are to keep music business away from the music, empower each artist with the tools they need to successfully tour and sell records on the road, and match each group with their ideal listening audience.” GROUNDUP is an imprint of ROPEADOPE RECORDS.

The “PHILTHY” re-release is an opportunity for fans and listeners to enjoy the incredible talent featured on the record. Tommy Sims, Roy “Futureman” Wooten, Michael League, Bernard Wright, Bobby Sparks, and Robert Seawright are just a few of the amazing artists that lent their talent to “PHILTHY”.

Download Curaçao by Philip Lassiter, featuring JnA

Posted in News.